WINTER IS HERE. THE END OF A YEAR

Winter is not my favorite time. 

But it does take me into a cozy season. 

After a few snowfalls, I realize the warm weather has finally said goodbye, and the time of slowing down has made its way to our town. 

The sun sets earlier, and the bare trees stand tall with silhouettes dancing across the evening sky.

The cold, the fog, and the Icy roads I do not desire at all.

But there is something beautiful as winter breaks and bends the year to an end.

It’s time to snuggle up. No more being in a rush.

 A chance to light a tapered candle in the window or warm up cozy by the fire, and reflect on the year that has been. 

The good and the bad, it doesn’t matter what kind of year you’ve had. Take a look and see what you’ve done. 

Celebrate your wins, big or small. Thank God for them all.

 And the things that need work. Perhaps a temper, you might have lost. Or harsh words being uttered. It can all be forgiven at the cross. 

Gratitude changes my perspective for sure.

I am most grateful for the miles I traveled this year. 

For road trips and flights. A chance to wrap my arms around my grand babies tight. 

I’m appreciative of the moments when unexpected things occured. And life moves me in a direction I was unaware it would.

Birthdays and Anniversaries were celebrated loud. And we had a Fall wedding, where we gathered and the bride and groom pledged their vows.  

But quieter now is this little house. My heart on some days is sad. I go to the Lord and give him my tears. He makes my heart glad. Some prayers were answered, and others had no reply, but we stood in the gap without questioning why. 

God is faithful.

So I’ll sit at my desk to finish the stories I long to tell. The memoir and the books are half-written on the shelf. 

I’ll hunker down and finish what I desire to do and give God all the glory when it is all through.

What has this year been like for you?

Encouragement for your soul.

  1. Spend some time reflecting on the year you’ve had.
  2. Offer up a heart of gratitude for all that God has done. Even for the things you didn’t understand.
  3. Journal or jot down the things God might want to change in you
  4. Find a word and a verse to help you walk through the upcoming year. 
  5. Commit to reading your bible and praying daily.

My verse for 2023

Psalm 150:6 

Let everything that has breath praise the LORD!

Praise the LORD!

My word is PRAISE!

Waiting for His return,

Jamie

Leave a comment