So What’s The Condition Of Your Heart?

fear grips the heart

Is your heart fully open?

Are the burdens in your life causing you to shut the door of your heart, holding on to the doorknob in hopes no one will try to get in?

Can I tell you, I’ve been there.

So afraid of being hurt again, tired of the intruders, and sceptical of the “nice people.”

There was a time in my life where I locked myself in and shut everyone out including God.

He was the very one who had everything I needed to be set free.

The bible says in Proverbs 4:23

“Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.”

Notice that it says guard your heart, not shut it off.

Coming out from behind my locked heart took breathing God’s truth into those places of fear, betrayal, anger and hurt.

I remember one day in particular God was showing me the freedom in letting go, but there I was gripping tighter.

Fear grips the heart, but God sets the heart free.

The verse says “For everything flows from it.”

So what’s flowing from your heart?

Is it love, generosity, kindness and peace?

Or is it sarcasm, pride, anger and hurt?

You can put a smile on our face all you want, but the true condition of your heart will be what flows.

It’s no fun to be the person who gets hurt.

It’s not fair to be the one who feels the pain from being betrayed.

It’s just wrong to be abused and see those who hurt you walk away without facing serious consequences.

However the choice to be free is yours.

You can close up your heart and not let anyone in. You can sit day after day and list the wrongs done and the reasons that fit. I’m sure people will understand.

But then what is the quality of your life?

Don’t you want to live and be alive in all that you do?

It’s not easy to open up a heart that is wounded.

But God…

I realized in everything that I had faced in my life, there were many times where hope was gone.  Peace could not be found and I couldn’t imagine being set free from my life of insanity.

But I would see these words written across my mind often,

But God…

Through whatever you are facing,God wants you to let him in.

I’m not talking about being a good christian, I’m talking about being a real one.

The kind of person who steps up, hurt and all and says “God will you take this.”

The kind of person that extends their hand to a true friend and says “Will you pray for me?”

Trust me the fake smile will only last so long and the “I’m good” phrase will push your hurt deeper.

There is a greater truth hidden in your locked heart. No matter what your hurt is God can set you free.

Lift your eyes to the one who sees your true heart.

Let him come for you today.

Don’t let your eyes focus only on what’s in front of you.

Lift your eyes above your circumstances to Jesus who knows just what to do to set you free.

Will you lay it down?

Whatever it is that caused you to close up your heart, take your hand off of the doorknob and let him in once and for all.

It may feel like you’re going to stop breathing. It might even seem like death would be easier.

Will you let the floodgates of heaven flow in?

All the things you have been holding onto will be washed away by the power of his blood and his spirit will set you free.

Life really is short.

James 4:14

“Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away.”

Don’t allow the enemy to steal one more day of the life God intended you to live.

Will you pray with me.

God,

Forgive me for not trusting you to heal me. Forgive me for taking matters into my own hands and allowing the enemy to steal my joy. Help me to forgive those who have hurt me. Will you show me how to let go of my pain, my anger, and the unforgivness I have laid as a foundation in my heart. Teach me to forgive. Cause my heart to want all that you have for me as you set me free. Give me courage to rise above my circumstances. As I unlock my heart, I invite you in to fill me with your presence and cause me to be awakened to the life you have set for me. I prayer these things in Jesus name, amen.

Live your life to the fullest.

Praying for you,

Jamie

©2015

2 thoughts on “So What’s The Condition Of Your Heart?

  1. shentelromias47

    FREEDOM
    A true feeling that God gives us the choice to choose is we want to or not. I remember when I chose Freedom my life just took off like a lightning bolt. Making that choice in my life to be free was the very best decision I ever made. God stood by my side from the start and guided my every step. This blog has truly blessed me in remembering where God has taken me and is yet to take me in my life. I love you and know surly this will truly unlock someone’s heart to make that same choice to Holomua ( move forward). Bless you.

    Like

Leave a comment